Paper Craft : Gift box tutorial

Hello !

So in this post, I want to show you how I made the gift box for my friend’s present.

The only reason I made it was because I had no cute packaging available for the present. You see, I made some cute mini macaroons and needed some sort of cute way to store it.

I don’t actually make my own packaging often, so this is actually my first time in about a year ? Luckily, I was into scrap booking a long time back and happen to have all this nice patterned paper with me :)

 

So without further ado —

Food box tutorial 

Materials:

Materials neededAs you know, I often make things up along the way so this image  is what I thought I needed.

  • Two types of patterned paper
  • Pencil
  • Ruler
  • Scissors
  • Ribbon (colour of your choice)
  • Hot glue gun, or craft glue
  • Paint brush
  • Paint (colour of your choice)
  • Square sticks ( They’re like matchsticks without the top red part ) OR popsicle sticks
  • Cardboard ( can be cereal boxes or something like that)

Folding the box

  • Decide the size of your base and the height of your edges. My base was 16cm x 16cm and  the edges were the width of my ruler. (The black lines are to show my pencil lines)
  • Fold along the lines you made
  • Tuck the corners in and glue where the places that are in blue ( colour coding :D )

Cardboad pieces

  • On the cardboard, measure out your base. This means I cut out a 16cm x 16cm square.
  • Glue it onto the centre. This is to strengthen the box.
  • Cut out 4 strips that will be stuck on the edges. Mine was the width of my ruler x 16cm

Lining of box

  • Glue the strips onto the edges
  • On the next piece of patterned paper, make the same measurements as your first paper. This is the lining to cover the cardboard.
  • This time, instead of folding in the corners, cut them out (as shown)

Adding the ribbon

  • Glue on that patterned paper over the cardboard.
  • Now, at this point, you’ll see that the edges are really ugly TT___TT (You can trim the edges to make them more even)
  • Use the ribbon and glue it over the edges to hide them.

Matchstick thingsThese are the matchstick things I was talking about. I bought them for some weird reason and never had a use until now.
For the next few steps, you can replace these matchsticks with popsicle sticks. You’ll see what it’s for soon. 

  • If you have these square stick things, just glue and stack them on top of each other. The height will depend on the edges of your box. My edges were about 10 matchsticks tall, so I stacked 8 matchsticks.
  • Make 12 of these stacks.
  • ( Hot glue gun is better for this because it dries faster. If you do have time, craft glue WILL make it look more cleaner. If you can’t see in the image, there are actually blobs of glue that oozed from the edges TT__TT)
Painting
  • Arrange the stacks and glue them together like shown in the image.
  • Paint it with a colour of your choice. Make sure it suits your theme !
  • If you have no time, just use a hairdryer to dry the paint. 

Completed gift boxEnd result

  • Glue the structure of matchstick things onto the paper. Hot glue is better because it will hold.

—-

Now, from the completed image, you can see the bumps of glue that is sticking out. I didn’t really worry because I actually put mini cupcake liners into each square.

I’m sorry I didn’t take a picture of the final present because I finished it off in the morning. Just imagine red and orange mini cupcake liners + mini pink macaroons + the whole thing wrapped in white cellophane with heart prints + the felt bunny !

—-

I hope the blue on the images didn’t confuse you. It was just there to tell you when to glue things on. Ofc, they are always on the underside and not the top where the blue is XD

Depending on the size of your gift, this can hold muffins, cookies, mini treats and the sort .

 

-I hope you gave you another idea for cute packaging !

 

-Cyn

Leave a Reply

