Making Cold Porcelain : My proccess

Hello there :D

So the other day, I had a comment on deviant art saying I could make cold porcelain, and use that for my crafting needs. I did mention in my other post that I would make it in the weekend – and today I did ^^.

I used the recipe from here, but I didn’t use it exactly:

3/4 cup glue

1/2 cup water

1 tsp pond’s cold cream

1 tsp glycerin

1 cup cornstarch

—-

When I saw these ingredients, I thought cold cream was some some sort of cream – as in the dairy product….
After some research, I found out it was actually some sort of heavy hand cream. Many sites recommended using “Ponds” hand cream but, since I didn’t really want to buy it, I used Neutrogena hand cream instead. 

Neutrogena hand cream works just as well. I think it just needs to be a non-greasy formula. I also had some sort of tub at home containing either potato starch or corn starch. I’m not actually sure which one is in the tub, but I’m pretty sure it was potato. It also worked – I don’t think there is a big difference between corn and potato starch.

Edit : So I asked what flour was in the tub, and it was Tapioca. COMPLETELY different.. haha.. well, I guess it worked, so yeah. For my next batch, I’ll use all the right ingredients so I can accurately make comparisons (between polymer clay). 

When I was making the mixture, the fumes- oh my life. The brand of glue I was using was “Selley’s PVA wood glue”. THE FUMES ! It smelt so bad, I had to hold the saucepan away for stirring (which was hard because the mixture was reallly thick).

The author of that post also said to knead the mixture for about 5 minutes with cornstarch until it wasn’t sticky anymore. I did this for probably longer, and wasted a lot of cornstarch. My CP (cold porcelain) was nice and smooth on the outside, but when you kneaded it, the inside went all sticky again.

So I did some more research and found out that you should use hand cream to knead the CP. I used the hand cream and it made such a difference ! It make my CP a lot smoother, and ofc, it did not stick to my hands.

First time making CPThis was after kneading it for more than 5 minutes. I was actually just going to leave it like this until I read it wasn’t supposed to be sticky any more. I kneaded it more – but it still remained sticky :(

Better CPHere is what my CP looked like after I kneaded it using the hand cream to coat my hands. I’m not sure if you can tell, but the surface is glossy and much better than the first time I made it. Keep CP in a ziploc bag with the inside coated with hand cream to prevent drying out.

I also read some comments saying that the cold porcelain they made cracked when it was drying. This is a little troubling because I don’t want my creations to crack…. and the amount of glue I used seemed like a waste….

Ah.. aparently it’s due to the water evaporating.

Next time, I’ll try this recipe:

1 Cup Cornstarch
1 Cup  of white glue
1 Tbs vinegar/lime juice or lemon juice
1 Tbs Baby Oil

So there we go !

I have made my porcelain, and I’ll see if I can make any tutorials with it. I don’t think texturing will work too well because the CP is very smooth and soft. I think I’ll concentrate more on things like figurines/characters.

-Thanks for reading !

-Cyn

Edit: May I also add that the texture of CP is VERY similiar to Sculpey Mold maker. VERY VERY SIMILAR.

2 thoughts on “Making Cold Porcelain : My proccess

    • Oho, I’m glad it helped !
      I’m actually going to make a proper batch with the second recipe tomorrow, so I’ll be comparing which one is better :D I’ll probably be posting it very soon.

      And yeah, I hate wasting materials as well TT____TT
      Especially if they’re expensive !

Leave a Reply

