Cold Porcelain : Clay review (?)

Hello Hello !

So, if you’ve read my Quick Update post, you’ll see that I had edited it and striked out the “Cold Porcelain, Lying down pink Rilakkuma”.

Now, the reason why I don’t really want to post it is because Cold Porcelain is kind of hard to work with. As it an air dry clay, it does dry while you are working on it. If you don’t know already, I always make up things a long the way – this is why it takes long for me to make a creation, and why cold porcelain isn’t exactly suited to me.

In the comments of the site I got the recipe off, there were complaints about cracking, and that is exactly what happened to me. Like I said before, the CP dries as you work on it so when I was blending, it did get a bit difficult. The clay is also quite soft so it does lose its’ shape easily when you handle it a lot.

Here is the bear I made. As you can see, it is unfinished. I just needed to add the snout details, but still, I’m not very satisfied with this creation (that’s also why I don’t really want to upload it) :

Incomplete bearI don’t really think it is a Rilakkuma anymore. It’s just going to be a normal bear D: It doesn’t meet the standard of Rilakkuma !

If you look closely, you’ll see little lines of where I had tried to blend. I didn’t want to press too hard when I was blending because it would have changed the shape.

This image is about a couple of hours after I left it:

Cracks in the clay

As you can see, the cracks are VERY visible. Again, these are only a couple of hours since I made the bear. It has been a couple of days now, the shrinkage and cracks are even worse.I used toothpicks to attach the head to the body, and you can see a little bit of the toothpicks.

The cracks are just mainly where I blended pieces of clay together so I guess CP is okay if you aren’t going to blend a lot.

Just a note , I also made a second batch of CP using :

1 cup – Glue
1 cup – cornstarch
2 tbsp – mineral oil (I used vaseline)
2 tbsp – Lemon juice

Maybe I overcooked it or maybe this recipe isn’t correct ( the comment said it worked for them), but yeah. This is even worse than my first batch.
It’s REALLY elastic and you can’t blend AT ALL…. what am I going to do with all the wasted glue ? I was really looking forward to working with this Cold porcelain….

For now, I’m just going to use it for small things like adding volume to a clay creation or something. I don’t really know..

Any suggestions ?

-Thanks for reading this quite long post. I’m just a bit disappointed that CP didn’t work the way I wanted it to D;

-Cyn

2 thoughts on “Cold Porcelain : Clay review (?)

  1. Calion says:

    aww i’m so sorry to hear that it didn’t work out :c

    i guess you could, like you said, use it as a filler for cupcakes and ice cream cones? :x

    • Yupyup, I’ll definitely be finding a way to use it all up XD
      I will probably try and make it again, but I’m just going to wait for now.

      Thanks for reading ^^

Leave a Reply

