Tutorial : Alternatives of Whipped cream

Hey guys !

As promised, here is my tutorial on different types of whipped cream. Sorry it took so long..  I finally went into crazy craft mode and made a lot of tutorials….
Some are still in editing stage and will be saved as drafts for later posts. I wasn’t actually going to post this one up so early, I was hoping to post the mickey mouse themed ones first, but since I think is is more helpful,  here it is !

(I really hope this helps, because when I was first starting, I didn’t know this at all ! )

Here we go !

Here are the types of whipped cream you can make for your creations:

  •  Sealant
  • TLS (Translucent liquid sculpey)
  • Cold porcelain
  • Puffy paint
  • Hot glue

Sealant: I use a white sealant that is for tiles. It’s air dry, and I’m pretty sure there’s a photo of it somewhere in my previous posts.

Sealant cream

  • You see that normal blob ? That’s the sealant. The dollop of ‘cream’ next to it was piped out. I made a whole bunch and that was the best looking one. You see, the sealant’s consistency isn’t very thick, so some of the ‘cream’ that I piped out spread a little. This made them flat, and the pattern wasn’t defined as I would’ve liked.
  • To thicken up your sealant, just add cornstarch or potato starch , or in my case, Tapioca flour. Mix mix mix ! The more you put in, the thicker it gets ! ( Try not to put too much, or else it’ll get sort of lumpy).
  • In the third picture, you can see that it can hold the peaks ! This is good consistency.
  • It takes about a day for the outside to dry (depending on the thickness of your cream), and probably about…… 2 days ? For it to dry completely. Although, depending on the humidity, it may take longer.

Cake using sealant cream

  • Here is a cake that I iced with sealant. This was the day I thought of using starch to thicken it up, ohoho !
  • Also, since the sealant dries matte, make sure you glaze it afterwards.
Comparison of sealant
Here’s an extra comparison picture I took a few days ago. The one with the ‘cocoa’ powder is the sealant with tapioca starch added. Can you sort of tell the difference ? The pattern of it is much more defined, and sharp compared to the other one. The other one isn’t as defined, and it did spread a little.

Cold Porcelain: Again, this is an air dry type of ‘cream’. The process of making this is basically the same as the TLS.

Making the cold porcelain cream

  • As you can see, I am using PVA glue and cold porcelain.
  • Find a container, or some sort of surface to mix the ‘cream’ in.
  • Mix mix mix ! The thickness of the ‘cream’ depends on the ratio of CP:PVA glue.

Colouring the CP cream

  • Here’s what it looks like on this random piece of clay. It sort of looks like the icing on buns right ? Ohoho, the consistency is quite thin here.
  • I added more clay, and a litttle bit more PVA. Can you tell the consistency is thicker ?
  • Let’s try adding some colour. I am using pastel.

Coloured porcelain

  • Using pastel doesn’t really give the ‘cream’ a very concentrated colour. Try acrylic paint if you want something more concentrated.
  • Also, see how this consistency can hold the ‘peaks’.
  • And again, just how it it looks like on top of that piece of clay. You can swirl the clay with a needle tool ( or toothpick). It will hold the swirls nicely.

Now, the only concern I have for CP whipped cream are the cracks. If you do manage to make CP that doesn’t crack, then this won’t be an issue. Also, keep in mind that CP does shrink when it dries. This left little holes in the ‘cream’, but it’s not too noticeable, and should be fine.

Translucent Liquid SculpeyThe steps for making translucent liquid sculpey is exactly the same as the CP version. Since it is basically polymer clay, all you need to do is bake to set it. This version of the ‘whipped cream’ is definitely the most time efficient ( since you don’t need drying time). However, it is also the most pricey.

TLS

  • All you need is Liquid sculpey and the clay of your choice. You could use Fimo deco, but I find TLS is better.
  • The steps are exactly the same as the Cold porcelain version. However, it does take LONGLONG to mix. It’s best if you make a big batch all in one go to save you time.
  • When you start mixing, start off with a little bit of clay : TLS. This is because, you’ll need way more TLS than clay. Slowly add more clay to thicken the consistency.
  • The second image is my batch of TLS. When I need to use it, I just take a little bit out, and add colour if I need to.
  • Remember to bake it ! It’s best to add TLS after your creation is baked, this is so you have a more solid surface to work on.

Puffy Paint: This isn’t really whipped cream, but puffy paint is AWESOME as drizzle. It isn’t that pricey, so yeah. The only downside is that, you can’t really pipe it out with a pattern.

Puffy Paint

  • This is my puffy paint collection ! This all came in a pack,,,,, for about 4 NZD ? Don’t really remember.

Coloured of Puffy paint

  • Here is the nozzle that usually comes with the puffy paint. This is what I meant when I said that you couldn’t really pipe it out with a ‘pattern’.
  • The second image is just the colours.
  • Notice in the third image , the colours are darker. Puffy paint gets darker as it dries. I just randomly made this cake with leftover clay…. sorry, it’s a bit ugly.
  • Puffy paint takes about a day to dry ? You could use a hair dryer but when I did , it ended up spreading everywhere TT. Plus, if you blow dry it, you have to hold your creation, and then your fingers end up burning. Just let it air dry. 
Hot glue: Now this technique, I haven’t actually tried myself. I saw it on youtube a while back , and it is very effective as drizzle for deco den. The only thing is that you’ll have to buy coloured hot glue. I can’t really find them in NZ (only the glitter ones), so yeah.
Here’s a video !
—-
Aaaand there we go !
I really hope this helped ! When I first started out with polymer clay, I only knew about TLS. It made me so sad when I added too much clay, and needed to add HEAPS of TLS to get it into a smooth consistency…

If you have any more ways to make whipped cream, please leave a comment :D
And as always, if you have any questions, just leave a comment !

Thanks for reading !

-Cyn
8 thoughts on “Tutorial : Alternatives of Whipped cream

  1. Calion says:

    i was using the sealant idea, but i used some leftovers that my dad had from a big tube he used in the kitchen
    i just popped it into a small zip lock bag and cut off a corner
    it worked nicely for very natural looking cream, like meringues on tarts, and held its shape pretty well
    the problem with my method is that without the icing tip it doesn’t make whipped cream dollops very well

    i’m quite interested in finding out what type of sealant you used
    was it in a biiiig tube to be piped out with a caulking gun or something smaller?
    and how did you get the tip to stay on while you were piping?

    • Calion says:

      oh, almost forgot!
      about the puff paint, does it peel off when it dries on clay? what about when it dries on silicone?

      thanks so much <3

      • The type of sealant I use is just a multipurpose gap filler. It’s called “Selley’s No more gaps” and comes in a tube of 320g.
        As for the dollops of whipped cream, I stick the icing tip onto the ziploc bag. Just cut a little bit off the corner of the bag, and place the icing tip over it. Then just use sellotape to make it stay. I usually wrap the tape around a couple of times ^^.

        The puff paint doesn’t really peel off when it dries. I guess it could if you forcefully pulled it off, but it sticks on quite nicely.

        If you want, I can take pictures of everything you just asked me ^^.

  2. Calion says:

    it would be wonderful if you could show me a picture of how you taped the tip on c:

    thanks you for taking the time to do all this <3

Leave a Reply

