[2017]Short Update

Hello there,

With university finally over and the break in between my work, I’ve picked up on embroidery. So far, it seems like I’m just colouring with thread and I thought I’d show you guys some of the pieces I’ve worked on so far.

As usual, I start off any new craft with Totoro.

Totoro

And then I thought I’d craft some Neko Atsume. As you can see, I was experimenting with the textures that different stitches would create.

NekoAtsume Butt

Now something new, a character called Pocha Peng. I discovered this character through a sticker set on a chatting app. This was actually the first thing I made when I started to embroider. You can see my stitches are kind of messy.

Pocha peng dinosaur

And finally, this is my current work in progress. These images are all from the instagram account of the creator. You can see my pencil marks and outline, I think I’ll be finishing this piece sometime today

4PochaPengCat

I’m thinking of buying a smaller embroidery hoop and potentially turning these pieces into patches. So far I kind of just have all these pieces of cloth with a character in the middle and it really seems like I’m wasting 90% of the fabric.

I was also thinking about buying a small fabric button maker/different types of fabric so I can create smaller pieces that are actually wearable – who knows!

On a side note, now that I’m finished being a student I’m admiring those who can actually make a living out of what they create. These days, creating things from clay isn’t the same as what it used to be. I constantly feel like I need to spend my time on honing on my skills so I can find a job in my degree…

I also find that I’m not as inspired as I used be – but I really hope to start making things as a hobby and potentially starting up my etsy again. We will see what happens hehe.

For now, let’s just see if I can post more updates on my blog hahaha

As usual, thanks for reading!

-Cyn

5 thoughts on “[2017]Short Update

Leave a Reply

